British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards 2017

The (BEDSA) to celebrate sporting excellence within BAME communities and help inspire the next generation. BEDSA is our flagship project which helps celebrate the contributions made by BAME communities and drive change in the sector creating role models and recognising the hard work, dedication and talent on and off the field of play.

The BEDSA Aims:

  • Increase BAME participation across sport at all levels (from playing fields to the Boardrooms)
  • Celebrate sporting excellence within BAME communities
  • Drive change in sector – more role models from more communities in more sports
  • Reward and showcases sporting achievement
  • Stimulate interest in sports and unearth talent
  • Inspire the next generation of 'Future Champions”

The third annual British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards will take place on Saturday 18th March 2017at the London Hilton, Park Lane, London. BEDSA Ambassadors include Denise Lewis, Christine Ohuruogu, Chris Ramsey, Moeen Ali, Mark Ramprakash and BEDSA have been supported by Lewis Hamilton, Frank Bruno, James Degale. Kriss Akabusi. The ceremony will be hosted by Sir Lenny Henry and will be attended by over 800 guests.

This years headline guests include; Isa Guha former Cricket World Cup Winner, former professional boxer Johny Nelson, as well as, Olympian Lutalo Muhammad and Alice Tai. 

Voting is now closed and winners will be announced on the Awards night.  The finalists under each award category are;

Youth Sport Trust Young Sports Person    

Alice Tai – Para Swimming

Harleen Kaur – WMKF Kick Boxing

Haseeb Hameed – Cricket


The British Army Unsung Hero                                                

Ezdihar Abdulmula – Bradford

Inderpal Singh Cheema – London

Kwesi Edubatey – Luton


England Athletics Coach of the Year

Chris Hughton – Football

Ottis Gibson – Cricket

Sunil Birdy – Boccia


UK Sport Inspirational Performance of the Year  

Azeem Rafiq – Cricket

Kadeena Cox MBE – Para Cycling and Athletics

Ruqsana Begum – Muay Thai Kick Boxing


​Sport England Community Sports Project of the Year 

Leicestershire CCC Community Engagement – Leicester

Sport 4 Life – Birmingham

Spring Sports, Leisure and Recreation – Nottingham


Mind Wellbeing Award 

Jewel Miah MBE – Oldham

Manisha Tailor MBE – London

Sonia Smith – London


Spirit of 2012 Connecting Communities Award 

Al Madina -  London

Indian Gymkhana + Stanmore Jafferys Football Academy – London

Interfaith Games – Regional


Sporting Equals Sportswoman of the Year

Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill – Heptathlon

Kadenna Cox MBE – Para Cycling and Athletics

Nicola Adams OBE – Boxing

Sam Quek MBE – Hockey


Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year

Lutalo Muhammad – Taekwando

Maro Itoje – Rugby Union

Mohamed Sbihi MBE – Rowing

Sir Mo Farah – Athletics

The following category has been chosen by the judging panel:

·         Lifetime Achievement

​The following categories will be chosen by the Award sponsor:

​​·         Football Association Special Recognition

​​·         Tennis Foundation Special Recognition

Further information is available throught the BEDSA